My Hatred for Fall

I. HATE. LEAVES. And the wind. Let’s retrace what happened on that cold, windy Thursday afternoon. My morning started off on a good note. I woke up in my nest, and none of my feathers were out of place. Yes. I’m a bird. A pigeon to be precise. I live in my little nest, in a tree, in this place people call Central Park. I have had near death experiences multiple times. Almost got hit by a frisbee, a dog chased after me, a kid ran after me (I think she wanted to eat me), and more. My breakfast consisted of bread crumbs from a pizza, and some sort of murky liquid. Then i went out for my morning stroll around the park. And guess what?! I almost got hit by a group of cyclists, they must have been tourists. I was able to save myself in time. It hadn’t been my first rodeo. Around lunchtime, a tall and strong man sat on a bench with his daughter with a bad of bread crumbs. I went over because free food is awesome, and bread crumbs are my favorite. I suddenly felt a gust of wind. “No! Not my bread crumbs!” As I exclaimed in pigeon another huge gust of wind came and decided for me that I was going to take of in flight. Lots of humans seem to love autumn. I hate it! All the leaves fall, and the temperature decreases making me significantly colder when I go to bed. I haven’t quite mastered the skill of flying during a windy day yet. So it didn’t help when a dead leaf, fresh off the tree, landed in my face! I couldn’t move the leaf off of my face since I was mid flight, so I just dealt with it. Then… SPLAT! I hit a pole. Which was in my way. The pole should have known that I was flying right towards it. And it was my favorite lamppost to sit on. Now I have a giant bruise on my forehead!

2 thoughts on “My Hatred for Fall

  1. This is such a funny story. I love this blog and all your other ones too! I love how you wrote this story in first person point of view!

  2. That’s hilarious!! For a minute I thought you were talking about how YOU really hate fall, and I was really surprised that you had such strong feelings about it. Eventually, I realized that you were talking like a pigeon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *